top of page
Search
  • chesschat

On Being 'The Smart One' or 'The Sexy One'

Feminism is about choice, about having the right to make your own decisions. That said, choosing to be either smart or sexy is not something we should have to do. (Clearly, this guy is nailing it).







As a society, we love to categorise and label, maybe as a means of understanding. Whilst this may seem harmless, it can be super restrictive. This is especially the case with women; you're either sweet or mysterious, kind or cold, frigid or easy, smart or sexy. These dichotomies imply that it's impossible for a woman to be: sweet when you get to know her but mysterious beforehand, kind if you treat her with respect but cold otherwise, ‘frigid’ if she’s not in the mood but ‘easy’ if she is, smart and determined by day but smooth, sultry and sexy by night.


You can see it in movies; there's often a 'smart' one who is either pitied by the 'sexy' one or taken under her wing and given a makeover. Then and only then does everyone have an epiphany and realise that the smart one with glasses and braces is actually super attractive. This whole school-like separation of girls, based on looks and brainpower also filters into the real, adult world. Whenever I go for an interview, friends often tell me to: wear some makeup (but not too much that you look like you're trying to hard), have my shirt buttoned up just enough (so as to look both professional and appealing), and be charming but not flirtatious. The list goes on, but each instruction reinforces the idea that you won't be taken seriously as woman - or thought of as 'smart' - if you present yourself in either a sexual or 'overly attractive' manner.


Another example is online, on LinkedIn (a professional website). I literally never get any messages about work or education, almost every message is flirtatious. When I ask my male friends why, lots of them say "well, you see that profile picture of yours, your lips look too big with that lipstick", basically saying: "you can't have it both ways". It's the same with any meetings I've attended, I've always been complemented on my appearance, never on my degree or general achievements. Now, I'm certainly not complaining about receiving compliments; compliments are always nice to receive. But, it also makes me feel like I'm not taken seriously, like I'm immediately overlooked as a professional. That feeling is then reinforced by the overly personal questions I get asked and the genuinely shocked looks I receive when I contribute something of value.


Whilst this is a problem that so many women face, you can't let it stop you from dressing, talking and carrying yourself how you want to. You can be both sexy and smart, and those men who are so often neither (sorry bit harsh but am I wrong?), who overlook that possibility are just silly. So, go ahead, but your pencil skirt, tight white shirt and red lipstick on, and do so in an empowering fashion; walk around that office with your head held high, knowing you’ve got the brains, beauty and confidence.




57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page